Is it time to go back yet? Pre-planning my first weeks!

Hello, firsties! And other teachers, peoples, robots that are interested in what I have to say,

So….it has come to the point in the summer that I am ready to go back to school. I have been moving out of my parents house and into my new townhome. It’s been entirely too stressful. I will just say one word: Comcast. Enough said. I am so thankful that I teach swim lessons and lifeguard during the summer or I’d be spent on cash. It’s been so expensive and such a headache. It’s a really cute place though. I will post some pictures once I have it completed. I just need ROUTINE at this point. No students, maybe ever. But an expensive vending machine, free water cooler water, and the peace and quite of my classroom sound on point right now!

I have been working on planning my first few weeks of school. I can hardly remember the beginning of last year because I was SO stressed. This year I am trying to put the IMPORTANT stuff first instead of the “Just get me to November” attitude I had while I was coaching cheerleading. My general breakdown so far is looking like:

Day 1: Ice-breakers, Get-2-Know activities, Seating Chart,
Day 2: Syllabus (this is a lot as I have really “cracked” down on rules this year. I want to save it until the second day)
Day 3-5: Another G2K activitiy, a school wide assembly, a team assembly, discussion of expectations again, review “complete v. incomplete sentences”, and possibly a short writing assignment.

Some G2K’s I will use….
-Alphabet Grid–write 1 word that describes you for each letter
-G2K Class Bingo
-Design a Binder Cover (This wil happen in the Day 3-5 time. Assembly days are unpredictable with the schedule. This takes up a whole day!)

Week 2: Begin Fiction v. Non-Fiction unit. This will lead into two independent genre studies….one where we look at TEXT FEATURES (internal text structures will come later) and one where we look at genres of fiction/elements of a short story. I am going to have all the students then pick a dystopian book and we will read and discuss different features of this. I think I am going to do a whole class genre study applied to individual novels instead of a novel unit this year. In my lowest class, I am going to supplement this with giving them different short stories to read. We will probably do Realistic or Historical fiction in this class. This group is at a pretty big defecit, so I feel that focusing their reading will be more helpful. Additionally, I have found in my lowest classes the concepts in Dystopian.Science Fiction tend to be hard to grasp. Realistic and Historical are areas that are easily confused with non-fiction, so hopefully this helps them in their reading.

F V NF Unit will begin like this…
-Pre-Quiz and Discussion about Fiction v Non-Fiction
-Fiction v. Non-Fiction foldable (will upload a picture with unit. I change what I put inside per class, so I need to have one made. Some classes can have “additional identifiers” if they need a better understand or are understanding TOO well)
-Discussion of different types of materials
-Checklist….How do I know what I am reading?
-Breakout into Non-Fiction Text Features and Fiction Genres/Elements of a Short Story. The elements of a short story will happen in conjuction with the novel unit/story units.

This is all such a BRAIN DUMP! I will post lesson plans and unit samples when I get to them. Also look for my ice-breakers and “first week in review” when the time comes.

 

FirstieTip

Firstie Tip:

If it’s your first time teaching….every plan you have will no go as planned.
Don’t worry about planning out every details. Make sure you have enough ice breakers and a general idea of what direction you want to go once everything is settled in.

Alright friends. That does it for this teacher tonight. I still have a unit to work on and stuff to pack for le’ townhouse.

(:

Miss Wyoming

Leave a Reply

