Random Survey for Teachers

Hello!

I’m on family vacation and all the boys are out fishing, so no beach time for this girl until they get back. To be honest, I’m not huge on the beach anyway. I’d prefer to do my week at a lake or go sight see somewhere with good shopping. Anyways, wanted to do a quick update with some fun things because my planning has stalled out for to lack of an actual computer.

My move is going swimmingly. I am all settled in with minor unpacking to do. Hopefully I’ll be completely done soon!!!!!

Here is a cute random survey I found on Yahoo! for teachers:

1) What is your favorite inspirational quote?
I have a few, but my favorite is what I featured as my senior yearbook quote….”If you want to know what a man’s like, take a look at how he treats his interiors not his equals.” –Sirius Black, Goblet of Fire

2) Last movie you watched?
…….Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 1.

3) What inspired you to be a teacher?
Several factors including my love of reading, my love of helping people, and a special teacher I had in 11th grade named Tracy Sonafelt who made everyone love English and feel like they had a place in the classroom.

4) Favorite holiday?
Halloween!!!!!!!!

5) What are you currently reading?
The Selection by Keira Cass

6) Favorite part of being a teacher?
Watching kids get excited over books and talking to them about books we’ve both read.

7) Least favorite part of teaching?
Paper work and RTI initiatives. Anything standardized is a challenge for me because I feel  that constantly changing standardized standards to implement rigor only puts stress on the kids and further the gap between on track learners and those who are behind. More kids are being considered behind when really they are intelligent kids who test poorly. It’s tough because there has to be some standard to measure achievement but I’m just not sure if there is a true “learning friendly” way.

8) Secret other profession:
Not a secret…..hair and makeup artist for formal events or on a set.

9) Favorite part of the school year?
Right after Christmas!

10) Tips for future teachers?
My whole blog is based around that. One thing I will say though is don’t just apply for jobs…..call or email to let the principal know you have applied!!!!!

That’s all for now!
-Miss Wyoming (:

Leave a Reply

